Living simply in the wild

A re-birth-Starting a Journey-Park Rangers Blog

20121231-124144.jpg

 

A Park Rangers Blog

Well, by now im sure you have read my wifes post explaining all the madness that has come to pass. I know a few of you may be happy and excited for us and im sure there are an equal amounts of you that think we may be crazy. But before you judge allow me to explain. Since the day we found out that we were having Jace everything I have done has been for my family. Chasing high paying careers only to come up feeling empty. Yeah we bought a lot of stuff and did things, but we got tired of those same things in a hurry. That “happiness” faded fast and I was left wondering what’s the point. Why work so hard doing jobs I absolutely loathed, which was why I left the car business in the first place. Then I found the Insurance gig, “It’s easy and you can make $250,000 a year”! Being me I took it for truth and I bought in. For a while it was good, but once all the friends and family where no longer prospects I was left attempting to be something Im not, a smooth talking salesman. Six months of scraping and begging for an account lead me to understand myself just a little bit better. I dont want to be a good, let alone great, salesperson. I want to be outside amongst trees and creatures and shelters. I am sick of this office, these four walls, this cage. I guess I do have my stint in insurance to thank for this epiphany, so for those of you from that life thank you.

park ranger blog

Great story, real touching, right? Now, your wondering “So, what the heck are you doing”? Well, Im on my way to Mount Vernon, Washington to start training to be a Park Ranger. It’s something I’ve always admired and wanted to pursue but never did because it was never something I thought would make us a quality living; and it still wont if you measure happiness in dollar bills. Like most Americans I once felt you had to earn big to live big, but I am very much convinced that you can still live big if you spend little. I don’t have to have a 60inch TV and 250 channels, I don’t need a $40 steak from that classy steak place downtown. Nope, I just need my family, a tent, some firewood, and place to explore. If you’re wondering, Yes we’ll have a regular house it just wont need to be 3000 square feet with a “man cave” and a fenced in back yard. Maybe 900 sqf with a national forest for a backyard and a few real caves to check out!

20121231-135013.jpg
So, this new and crazy thing I am about to do, has me so excited I am barely able to think about much else right now. As excited as I am to be someplace like Washington doing something in a National park, I am more excited about doing something that I feel matters. More than that, I am extremely proud that I will be able to share real knowledge with my boys and teach them about where the wild things REALLY are!

With that I will end this update by saying , thank you all for your support and understanding. I love you All.

20121231-134431.jpg

14 responses

  1. Dani Webber

    I absolutely admire you David for doing what the rest of us just sit and dream/think about, but don’t have the guts to leap into. You’re following your happiness. Enough said.

    December 31, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks Dani!
      It took a lot for me to get over the fear but I am glad I did.

      December 31, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  2. Dawn

    When you see someone put on his Big Boots, you can be pretty sure that an Adventure is going to happen.
    ~Winnie-The-Pooh

    Love you Dave!

    December 31, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • That bear was pretty wise… Love ya Mom!

      December 31, 2012 at 4:17 pm

  3. Brandon Pease

    Good luck buddy. Its a big world out there with lots of different quality of lives. Your exactly right. Monetary things don’t always bring happiness but just more stuff. Finding something that fills that void in your life that makes you want to jump out of bed and go.to work is a great feeling and i hope you are on the right path to doing just that. Be safe and enjoy the ride. Good luck!

    December 31, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • Thanks old friend! Your support is gratifying “Peaser”!

      January 2, 2013 at 2:16 am

  4. Katie Jordan

    Good for you Dave!! I completely understand not needing the “big” things and enjoying what truly matters in life! Proud of you for following your dreams! 🙂 Love you and your family tons!

    January 1, 2013 at 2:23 pm

  5. Brandy Aradanas

    Big bro, you never cease to amaze me. You have created quite the life for yourself & now you have ventured off into the world to follow your heart and chase your dreams! I just want you to know that I am more than proud to call you my big brother, and I am looking forward to reading more about this journey you have taken! Be safe! I love you Dave!!

    January 2, 2013 at 1:54 am

    • Thanks sis, for the first time I’m my life I feel right. And that in its self is exhilarating add the rest of the story and we got something cooking stay tuned! FYI Washington is beautiful! Just wish I had a better camera to capture it do everyone.

      January 2, 2013 at 2:11 am

  6. Jon Hansen

    Hi David.
    You don’t know me, but your wife has a very special place in our family’s hearts. My wife is Curt’s cousin, and Amber & her sister spent a lot of @ our house playing with our daughters when they were growing up.

    You must be a pretty special guy if Amber fell for you…

    That said, our thoughts & prayers go out for you & yours as you start this new adventure in your family’s lives.

    Jon

    January 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    • Jon, I am greatfull for your thoughts. We are very excited for the future and will keep those who care informed of our where abouts and

      January 2, 2013 at 8:44 pm

  7. Amber R. Serrano

    Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!

    January 2, 2013 at 9:49 pm

  8. Amen! LOVE IT!!

    March 24, 2013 at 9:54 am

Leave a Reply

