Living simply in the wild

Resolutons

 

New years resolutions. You know those goals you set on January first and through the weeks you start forgetting about them until the next New years eve and you once again decide to set the same resolutions vowing that THIS year will be different, THIS year will be the year you actually keep your resolutions. To be honest I’ve always dispised the question, “What are your new years resolutions?”. Its like im being asked. “What are you going to set yourself up for failure with this year?”. We all become so wrapped up in making our resolutions that we dont really make any sort of plan to achieve our resolutions. I can think of 100 things I’d like to acomplish this year, thus being Janurary 1st i should make a list and slap the words New Years Resolutions on the top. You know things like:
-Get in shape
-Loose that 5lbs i put on over christmas
-Eat healthier
-Spend more time with family
-Get out of debt
-Volunteer

See what i mean about the vague goals?

With all of our changes going on i would be insane to set aditional goals beyond merly surviving the next three months as a single mom, and moving across country alone with two kids and a dog. I feel like i should put “feed the kids each day” as a goal and ill be doing great if i can keep that goal for a few weeks.

Ok so even though i kind of hate the whole idea of new years reslotutions id feel slightly unhuman not making at least one. But heres the deal, im making one that i can keep. One that i won’t fail at, one that i can enjoy and that isn’t going to stress me out. Im not starting my new year off with this cloud of doom and added stress. No one needs added stress on day 1 of a new year, that just sets a bad tone for the next twelve months.

So my offical New Years resolution is to enjoy the journey. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the stress of it all and I admit that lately I’ve been very wrapped up in the stressors of this journey so far. I’m going to enjoy this time I have with my boys. I’m going to enjoy building a strong bond with them and being there for them when they are missing daddy. I’m going to enjoy spending time with my family while we are here and I’m going to enjoy our upcoming road trip. Enjoying things once we move may prove to be the easy part. Ill be with my husband again, ill be surrounded in beauty, and ill be on an adventure. But in the mean time…I am going to enjoy this journey. I am going to enjoy it no matter how difficult it can be right now.

Don’t set yourself up for failure this year. You have all year to loose those extra pounds, life is too short to eat healthy all the time, and pick just one debt to pay off.
Happy new year folks. 2013 is going to be as great as you make it! I encourage everyone to take one risk this year. Big or small, just take one risk! You’ll never feel more alive.

One response

  1. Amber R. Serrano

    I couldn’t of said it better!!!!!

    January 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

