Living simply in the wild

Questions for a Ranger

-What feelings does being a ranger evoke in you?

David, “Pride,accomplishment, Power. Mainly pride. i feel good about . i actually feel like i’m doing something that actually matters, which i’ve always tricked myself into thinking that what i was doing matters. But this time i honestly believe what i’m doing really matters.

photo

-What do you think has changed most about you since going to the academy?

David, “I don’t know really, i don’t think anything has really changed except my view on a career to ‘just pick something’, and have that be the job you do.

-So did you learn any big lessons?

David, “Not really, i mean other then all the laws and technical things like that i can’t say that i learned any big life long lessons.

-Did you learn something about yourself?

David, “oh ya i suppose i did. I learned i am capable of doing more then i thought i was. I always knew i was good at things. I can do this and i can do that but i was really worried about having to juggle those four extra classes, but i did it.”

David, “hey wait, are you recording this? Washington is a two party consent state, and you did not have my permission.”

BUSTED.

Well needless to say i need to brush up on my Washington laws or be more stealthy in my interview techniques.

But there you have it, a few honest words of reflection from the Ranger.

IMGP2428

3 responses

  1. Congrats Dave! You will do great!

    May 21, 2013 at 8:46 am

  2. Interesting perspective. My son is in Ranger School with the Army. I am fascinated by all that he’s learning and enduring! Congrats on your accomplishment.

    May 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    • I can’t imagine how grueling the Army Ranger school is. Park Ranger Academy has its tough moments and is geared towards law enforcement. Maybe if I were younger i would’ve gone the Army Ranger way 😉

      May 21, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

