Living simply in the wild

Is life passing you by without you knowing?

I have gone to get myself,

If I return, before I get back,

Please hold me here,

Because it is important that I see myself

When I get back, before I get confused.

-unknown

 

I heard this quote when I was a kid and it has honestly stuck with me ever since. When i start feeling like this i know it’s time i simplify life.

simplify life

Washington Sky

Today the glorification of being busy is oh-so evident. We almost brag about how busy we are, in a complaining sort of way. We have to do X, Y, Z, Triple R, ABC, 123 and that all needs to be done between work and family and sleep and social life, and…wait you can’t have a social life when your this busy! Seriously, it is out of control. When did we decide that it was okay to let life pass us by because we were so busy doing the things that just had to get done?

simplify life

Hidden Lake Trail. Lake Wenatchee.

I’m guilty of it too. Some days I have lists of stuff I just need to do. It is like the sun won’t rise if I don’t do these things! Well guess what, the sun rises, the day passes, life continues whether or not I’ve crossed anything of my glorious To-Do list. So why not just simplify life?

IMGP3052

Wanapum Recreation Area Beach

Luckily Ranger doesn’t care if the dishes aren’t done. He doesn’t care that the bathroom is a mess or floors aren’t swept. In fact he usually encourages such atrocities!

simplify life

Shooting Star

Oh, the clean laundry  has been sitting in the basket unfolded for 3 days? “That’s okay, don’t worry about it.” He says. Little does he know I’d been feeling guilty for 3 days because I just haven’t gotten around to folding it. But not to worry, it will be there tomorrow.

simplify life

Lupine

 

Truth is, I’m learning too. I’m learning how to un-busy myself, and let me be the first to say “It aint easy”. We are wired to GO GO GO.

simplify life

Washington Hwy 28

It was easier when we lived on the ‘dark side’ of Washington to simplify life. Those rainy days made you want to stay in bed and bake cookies all day, and I indulged in that on many occasions! Here it’s sunny and summer and I have a larger house that needs up kept and a yard and…and…and….i could give you excuse after excuse why I shouldn’t take a day to just ‘be’.

simplify life

I was reminded last night to slow down. It’s not easy as we have house guests arriving today and so much we want to do and see. But how enjoyable will those things be if you’re constantly rushing to the next thing on the agenda?

simplify life

 

I have a challenge for you, and for me. Take one day. It’s just one I promise. Throw away all sense of time. Live in the moment, the present, the now. See what happens. All worry will vanish, uncertainty will flutter away, peace and enjoyment will fill your cup. You won’t be stressed about what’s to come because it doesn’t matter, not for today. See how it feels.

 

This is one of the best ways we can simplify our life…living in the moment. If we do this so many other things disappear and other things will just fall into place. You’ll stop being so busy.

simplify life

And if you need a lazy day, by all means take it! Spend the day in your jammies, eating peanut butter out of the jar, watching a good movie…or two, or three. You’ll be amazed at how much more you’re able to give when you’ve taken some for yourself. And for goodness sakes alive…Do NOT feel guilty about doing so. Do NOT. You deserve more than just a day so take it and own it. If the boss-man doesn’t approve, call in sick and have him call me. I’ll write you a note.

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Simply The Wildside

    testing

    July 28, 2013 at 8:37 pm

  2. amber

    testing

    July 28, 2013 at 9:19 pm

  3. OK… trying again!
    Love this post! I’m in the middle of packing a house to get on the road again. So ready…

    July 28, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    • Your next adventure will be amazing!

      July 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

