Living simply in the wild

Connecting in a Disconnected World: How to connect with people

*You’re officially being warned. This post will turn sentimental*

The interweb (do people still call it that?) is an amazing place. There’s facebook, twitter, message boards and whole communities online where figure out how to connect with people we never would have had the chance to before now.

Back when we were planning our trip to Guatemala I really dug in and became surrounded by whole communities of other families who were off traveling the globe. I’ve met people I never would have dreamed of meeting and stayed in contact with a new world of people through these communities. Many even had the pleasure and willingness of talking me off a few ledges when we were in the planning stages of our trip.

One of those people who we stumbled upon were Rachael and Mike from Treepot Travels. We were so excited when they sent us a message saying they were coming to our neck of the woods! They had gone from the Florida Keys to Main, to Alberta Canada and were headed down to Oregon.

1-10323108_10100319538290107_720310434_n

They arrived in their Truck, turned camper, and fit right in at the park and into our lives.

We grilled fresh fish, walked the Little Bear Trail, drove up to one of the most amazing view points in Chelan, laughed till we cried while camped out in the living room, and just had an awesome time getting to know these two wonderful souls.

Our Jr Ranger really took to Rachael and her larger then life camera. A day doesn’t go by where he doesn’t have a camera in his hand and is shooting the world he sees. He is now our official paparazzi. You may actually find more pictures of Ranger and I together popping up on the blog!

1-10323041_10100319538165357_29000532_n

How To Connect With People

I am really hoping to instill in our boys a few invaluable lessons. Lessons of openness and forgiveness, of kindness, of stewardship, and hospitality. There is no greater way to teach them these things then by letting them seep from our own pores. So I’m choosing to be open to the world and the wonderful people in it.

You attract what you Project.

1-10299397_10100319538160367_1473550723_n

We may not be traveling the world but that’s not going to stop us from meeting fellow travelers. I find we can learn the greatest life lessons by listening to others and we usually meet our greatest friends when we are open and vulnerable.

Everyone we meet knows something we do not.

Finding my kindred spirits in this world is an experience that never gets old. It’s a blessing each and every time. It’s a reminder that I am not alone. That no matter how broken I am, how many things I think are wrong with me, how secluded I am…I am given these wonderful rare jewels of this world. My very own Soul Sisters.

Finding people who have been cut from the same stone as me, who have dealt with similar struggles, who have the same weird quirks as me is comforting and refreshing.

It’s like I get to breath out when i’m around them.

I get to be the true me. There are very few people in this world who know me. Come to think about it… I actually might not even be included in those very few people. All I know is that when I’m not holding my breath around someone it’s safe to say we are Kindred Spirits.

how to connect with people

It is so easy to shut people out. To walk around the earth without ever having to be involved or be nice to strangers or get outside our comfort zones. But if we open up, if we smile at the stranger, strike up a conversation with gas station clerk or the woman in line behind us, we may find we have a bigger tribe out there then we’ve ever imagined.

The world is a beautiful place, and you don’t have to do extravagant things to find the beauty. It’s right here, you just have to be open for it.

I know that this won’t be the last time that our paths will cross with Rachael and Mike and even with other fellow travelers of this world. I know we won’t cross often but that holds no weight in this situation. We are so very grateful for the time we spent with them and look forward to meeting up again…somewhere…where the roads cross.

1-10312143_10100319537850987_210828277_n-001

 

 

One response

  1. Woah that site is fantastic i prefer examining your content regularly. Continue to be the excellent work! You recognize, lots of people are researching around just for this info, you might encourage them to significantly.

    July 4, 2014 at 6:04 am

Leave a Reply

